Skip to content

Regional golfers tee up for ERA Open

25 June 2018

On 23-24 June, Jabiru Golf Club played host to the Energy Resources of Australia (ERA) Golf Open. 

Congratulations to Scott Revie from Jabiru and Vale Moon from Humpty Doo who took out the Men's and Ladies Open Champion results.

Jabiru Golf Club President Geoff Morris said the Open was a great opportunity for golfers from Darwin and around the region to come out for the weekend, enjoy the fun and friendly atmosphere but also compete for some great prizes in an AGU and WGA recognised tournament.

“We have a great course in a unique location and it was pleasing to see golfers come out for the weekend from Katherine, Darwin, Humpty Doo and Jabiru to take advantage of the region’s cooler dry season weather,”  Mr Morris said.

The ERA Open is an annual 36 hole competition open to amateur players who are members of clubs affiliated with the AGU and WGA and have a current Australian handicap or affiliated AGU handicap or recognised overseas handicap

ERA General Manager Operations Lesley Bryce said the ERA Open partnership between ERA and the Jabiru Golf Club had been in place for more than 20 years and provided many benefits to the community.

“We’re proud to support this great local event and each year we’re encouraged by the number of ERA staff, Jabiru residents and the growing number of golfers who are coming across from Darwin and Katherine for the Open,” said Ms Bryce.

“The event has flow on benefits for the whole community through the investment golfers make in the accommodation they book, the petrol the buy, the food and snacks they purchase and the positive stories they take away from their weekend in this beautiful and unique location.” 

The ERA Open is supported through the ERA Community Partnership Fund.

For more information, visit the Jabiru Golf Club Inc Facebook page.

2018 ERA Golf Open results

Men’s Open Champion: Scott Revie (Jabiru)
R/U Rob Mackie (Katherine)
Ladies Open Champion: Val Moon (HD)
R/U Christine Wakefield (HD)
Ladies net: Jan Chamberlain 
Overall men’s Nett: Ted Pedersen (Jabiru)
R/U Chris Wilkins
A grade Nett: Philip McCullough (Darwin GC)
B grade Gross/ Nett: Adrian Estrich 
C grade Gross/ Nett: Ted Pedersen

2018 ERA Golf Open winners with ERA representative